Sunday, 18 September 2022

Race Day for the Malaysia Championship Series (MCS) Season Finale kicked off with a wet track surface from the morning’s rain shower. Leading a tough decision and strategy to be made for all drivers.

A silly mistake from Jonathan Xie during the qualifying session yesterday gave advantage to Mohd Yuszaidi from Maxtune Garage to clinch the overall winners for the Touring Production (TP) with 91 points. Despite the struggles in his first debut in MCS this season, Yuszaidi managed to finish the 54 laps in second place behind Ahmad Akid and his Indonesian pairing, Fitra Eri in first place. The combination from R Engineering HMRT, H.M Tauhid Anwar and Lai Wee Sing settled in third place. For overall TP championship standings, they both positioned first runner up with 77 points and Jonathan Xie, 66 points as second runner up.

Mitchell Cheah and partner Brendan Paul Anthony from HIREV DREAM CHASER became the overall Malaysian Touring Car (MTC) winners with 105 points after completing the 300km race in second place. It’s a remarkable day for both to redeem back the disappointment from the previous seasons. Followed closely in second place, Mark Darwin and Mah Siew Chean, Tedco Racing with 97 points and third, the drivers from Wing Hin Motorsports, Wong Yew Choong and Ng Khai Ee with 70 points.

Meanwhile in Stock Production 1 (SP1), a smashing performance from the youngest driver, Putera Adam from R Engineering HMRT has made him to be the unbeatable driver with 102 points. This season, the 16 years old driver has moved to SP1 from Stock Production 2 (SP2) and since that, he has unleashed his full potential in MCS. Adam finished the race in third place. Runner up for the overall championship, Al Farouk and Baron Sim from 23 Motors with 68 points touching the finishing line as a winner while Japanese drivers, Makoto Fujiwara and Masaya Kono in second place. The pairing from Rworks makes their first debut in the season finale. The second runner up for the overall championship goes to Ken Urata, Rworks with 64 points.

Overall championship standing in SP2 led by Ian Wong and Keifli Othman from DW Motorsports with 71 points. Aiyub Alamghir finished as runner up with 62 points and second runner up, Imran Wafi with his partner Najiy Ayyad from DNT Tune also with 62 points. The winner for SP2 in the 300KM race, Hafiz Bachok and Mohanjit Singh while Shazull Hisham and Mohd Syahrizal from Empire M Racing received a second place. Finishing the race in third place, Imran Wafi and Najiy Ayyad in their Honda Jazz.

MCS 2022 is organized by SIC, supported by the Ministry of Youth and Sports Malaysia (KBS), and sanctioned by Motorsports Association of Malaysia (MAM). The official partners are Yokohama, as the official tyre distributor and Fire Fighter as the official fire extinguisher with more than 1,000 fire extinguishers spread across the 5.543km track.

The MCS Season Finale concluded with 44 lineups of cars and the race was viewed live on the SIC Facebook page.

Kindly follow SIC on social media, @sepangcircuit for the latest updates of activities and events.
Please contact SIC Media Relations at mediarelations@sepangcircuit.com for further information.