Sunday, 18 June 2023 – The pinnacle domestic championship, Malaysia Championship Series (MCS) continues with Round 2 on 23 – 25 June 2023 at the home of motorsports, Sepang International Circuit (SIC).

Free Practice and Qualifying sessions will take place on Friday, 23 June 2023. Race 1 is scheduled on Saturday, 24 May 2023 from 12:45 pm to 1:30 pm, followed by Race 2 on Sunday, 25 June 2023 from 10:35 am to 11:40 am.

MCS Round 2 has achieved another milestone with the highest number of entries since 2002, boasting a total of 54 cars from four categories. This year’s season promises to be the most interesting season. MCS not only serves as a platform for local drivers but also attracts international drivers from Ecuador, Macau, Japan, Taiwan, Singapore, Bangladesh, and India. The one-hour race provides an opportunity for drivers to showcase their potential to the next level.

In the overall championship standings, Tauhid Anwar and Lai Wee Sing from R Engineering HMRT are leading the T-Production (TP) category with 27 points, holding a 2-point lead over experienced driver Keifli Othman and his partner Aiyub Alamghir from Sitty Racing in second place. Singaporean driver Jonathan Xie follows closely in third place with 20 points, trailing the leaders by 7 points.

Wing Hin Motorsports dominates the Malaysian Touring Car (MTC) category, securing the first and second positions with their drivers Naquib Azlan and Nabil Azlan, who have accumulated 27 points. Hayden Haikal and Wong Yew Choong are in second place with 22 points, while Mitchell Cheah and Rahul Mayer from Hi-Rev Dream Chaser hold the third spot with 21 points.

In the Stock Production 1 (SP1) category, Chiow Teck Song from R Engineering HMRT is currently in first place with 23 points. Jesmond Tan, driving Honda FD2R #444, holds the second position with 20 points, along with Pee Sau Fan and Sim Kwong Teck from DW Motorsport, who share the same point total in third place.

The Stock Production 2 (SP2) category, divided into SP2 G and SP2 V, features 27 cars. Former Malaysian F1 driver Alex Yoong and his partner Diego Moran from Axle Sport lead the SP2 V category with 30 points. Shafiq Samsudin and Nadzrie Shuhaimi from Piston Project B Pulzar follow in second place, trailing by 6 points. Alleh Tiah Yong Shun and Low Jia Jie are currently in third place with 20 points.

In the SP2 G category, Ian Wong Jien Sern from DW Motorsport holds the top spot with 25 points. Timothy Thomas Yeo and Aun Yue Wei from Bae Racing Team share the same point but in second place. Yip Kian Heng and Freddie Ang are in thirdMCS Round 2 will also feature the TGR Vios Sprint Cup, Caterham Championship, and Asia Classic Car Challenge as support races.

Chief Executive Officer of SIC, Azhan Shafriman Hanif commented,”The MCS Round 2 promises to be a highly competitive event due to the technical and sporting improvements implemented this season with exceptional entries across all four categories, particularly in SP2. Having said that, due to the overwhelming entries, registration are already full for all rounds. All the very best to the drivers and teams competing in the upcoming MCS Round 2.”

Fans of MCS can catch all the thrilling action at SIC with free entry to the Main Grandstand or watch the live streaming via the SIC Facebook page.

Follow SIC on social media, @sepangcircuit, for the latest updates on events and activities.
For more information, please contact SIC Media Relations at